Event Results and Upcoming Championships

(Winnipeg, MB Tuesday, July 9th / 13) – The month of June and early July have seen some amazing competitive play at some of Manitoba’s finest golf courses.

The Women’s City & District Championship was contested on June 15th & 16th at the Transcona Golf Club with St Boniface Golf Club’s Mindy Lichtman emerging as the champion after 36 holes.  She was victorious by five strokes over Eleanor Yarobe of the Braemar GC.  Lichtman also won this event back in 2011.

Two qualifying events took place for the Nott Autocorp Men’s Amateur which will be held at the Neepawa G&CC July 22nd to 25th.  The first qualifier was at the John Blumberg GC on June 20th and the second on June 22nd at the Portage Golf Club.  Ninety spots were available for the Nott Autocorp Championship as 30 players accepted their exemptions.  Exemptions are granted to the top forty from the previous year’s Men’s Amateur Championship, previous years Manitoba Junior Team members, previous years Manitoba Mid - Amateur Team members, Champion and Runner - up from previous years Manitoba Rural Junior Championship, low 8 scores, including ties, from previous years Manitoba Rural Amateur Championship, Semi - Finalists in the current years Manitoba Match Play Championship and Low Medallist in the current years Manitoba Match Play Qualifying Rounds.

The Provincial Junior Men’s & Women’s Championship took place at the Selkirk Golf & Country Club and the Elmhurst Golf & Country Club the week of July 2nd to 5th.  On the Women’s side, Dana Todd of the St Charles Country Club emerged as the champion with a 54 hole total of 232 (+15).  Todd is unable to attend the National Championship so Runner Up Veronika Vetesnik (Golf MB Public Player Club), Alexandra Demko (Whitewater GC) and Jaclyn Albrechtsen (St Charles CC) will represent Manitoba at the Royale Cup Canadian Junior Girls Championship July 30th to August 2nd at the Cherry Downs Golf Club in Pickering, Ontario.

Travis Fredborg of the Selkirk Golf and Country Club won the Junior Men’s Championship with a four round total of 289 (+1) which was good for a 3 shot victory over Steve Young of the St Charles CC.  Fredborg and Young will be joined by David Nelson (Southwood) to compete as Team Manitoba and the Canadian Junior Boys Championship July 30th to August 2nd at the Timberwolf Golf Course in Garson, Ontario.

July continues to be a busy month of provincial championships with the Women’s Amateur and the Men’s Mid-Amateur taking place this week, July 8th to 10th at the Minnewasta Golf Club in Morden.  Defending Champions Bri-ann Tokariwski of Elmhurst and Garth Collings of Breezy Bend are both in the field.

The Nott Autocorp Men’s Amateur will take place July 22nd to 25th at the Neepawa Golf & Country Club.  Last year’s champion, Josh Wytinck is set to defend his provincial crown.  Past Champions of the event include Jesse Skelton (2011), Peter More (2010), Garth Collings (2009, 1994, 1987) and Brad Kirton (2008 & 2007).

The Men’s & Women’s Senior Championship will conclude the month of July at the Breezy Bend Country Club July 29th to 31st.

For complete results of all championships and past champions, please visit the Golf Manitoba website at

To register for Golf Manitoba events, please visit our website and click on Tournament Registration.  A Master Card or Visa will be required to register on-line.  Competitors can also mail in entries or drop them off at the Golf Manitoba office (145 Pacific Ave).

About Golf Manitoba:  Golf Manitoba is the governing body for golf in the province of Manitoba and North West Ontario. Its mission is to develop, promote, govern and service the game of golf in Manitoba and North West Ontario for the benefit of all participants.  To learn more about sponsorship opportunities or Golf Manitoba, visit

- 30 -

For more information, contact:

Dave Comaskey
Executive Director
Golf Manitoba

Click to view complete leaderboard

Follow us on: