Finalists named for the Golf Manitoba Amateur Golfer of the Year and Distinguished Service Award Recipient Announced

(Winnipeg, MB Tues. October 16th, 2013) - The Golf Manitoba Selection Committee has announced four finalists for the 2013 Amateur Golfer of the Year Award, which will be presented during the Annual General Meeting and Awards Dinner on Oct. 21st at the Rossmere Country Club.

The four nominees, in alphabetical order are: Aaron Cockerill of Teulon, Garth Collings of Breezy Bend, Derek East of St Charles and Josh Wytinck of Pine Ridge.

Aaron Cockerill captured the season opening Match Play Championship and was runner up at the Nott Autocorp Men’s Amateur Championship, following a five under par 67 in the final round.  He ran away from the field in the Men’s Rural Championship winning by 17 strokes and concluded the season with a tie for 47th spot at the National Men’s Amateur Championship. He has also had two top ten finishes in college events.

MB Golf Hall of Fame honored member Garth Collings is once again recognized for his achievements.  In his first year of eligibility, he captured the Men’s Senior Championship by 19 strokes.  He finished tied for third at the Men’s Mid-Amateur and second in the Mid-Masters.  His results at these two major events secured him spots on the two provincial teams.  He finished sixth at the Prince Edward Island Open and finished the season tying for ninth place at the National Men’s Senior Championship.

St Charles’ Derek East was medalist at the Match Play Championship Qualifier, runner up at the Match Play Championship (lost in the final) and won the Nott Autocorp Men’s Amateur Championship at the Neepawa G&CC with a four round total of 13 under par.  He also won the Elmhurst Invitational.

Josh Wytinck was runner up in the Match Play Championship Qualifier and lost in the quarter - final match.  He finished 4th at the Nott Autocorp Men’s Amateur, 4th at the National Amateur Invite and the National Golf Club, tied for 21st at the Canadian University Championship and tied for 41st at the Canadian Men’s Amateur Championship.  As a member of the University of Manitoba Bison Golf Team, he captured three fall events (Concordia Invite, Augsburg Invite and the St John’s Fall Invite), had a runner up finish and two top five finishes.  He set a new Bison team record with a fall scoring average of 71.8.

Three players earned honourable mentions for their strong 2013 campaigns: Travis Fredborg of Selkirk, Rhonda Orr of Southwood and Bri-ann Tokariwski of Elmhurst.

Travis Fredborg won the Junior Men’s Championship, was a member of Team Manitoba at the Canada Games, finished tied for 23rd at the CN Prairie Future Links and made the cut at the Canadian Junior Boys Championship finishing tied for 60th.

Rhonda Orr won the provincial Women’s Senior Championship and finished tied for fifteenth at the Canadian Women’s Senior Championship.

Bri-ann Tokariwski won the Manitoba Women’s Amateur Championship and the Women’s Match Play Championship, was low individual at the Women’s Interclub A and finished 3rd at the City & District Championship.

The Amateur Golfer of the Year Award dates back to 1975. It will be presented for the 39th time on October 21st.

Distinguished Service Award

Breezy Bend Country Club’s Bob Forcand will be the 2013 Golf Manitoba Distinguished Service Award Recipient.

Mr. Forcand joined Breezy Bend in the winter of 1971 and became a Board member in the early 1980’s.  He served as the Club’s Tournament Chair and went on to serve as President in 1982-83.

He began volunteering with the Manitoba Golf Association in the 1970’s.  In the early 80’s without his knowledge, former MGA President Jim Bristow submitted his name to become a member of the MGA Board of Directors.  After serving in a number of roles, he eventually would become the Association President in 1989.

To this day, he still continues to be involved with the Association assisting at tournaments.  In 2013, back problems prevented him from doing so but he plans to return to action in 2014.

Golf Manitoba is very pleased to honor Mr. Bob Forcand as the seventh Distinguished Service Award Recipient.

Past recipients include Jerry Budyk (2007), Don Forsyth (2008), Betty Grant (2009), Brian Gilhuly (2010), Rudy Boivin (2011) and Joyce Collier (2012).


For more information, contact:

Dave Comaskey

Executive Director

Golf Manitoba


Click to view complete leaderboard

Follow us on: